Restaurant Day arrives in Zurich!

It’s the 19 of May 2012 and getting up at the first light of a promising day, I just grab a yogurt: we have a big, long, fat day in front: RESTAURANT DAY first time in ZURICH! restaurant day was started in Finland

I find this is sinply a great idea. One of those things that alike couchsurfing or bookcrossing, just makes me believe in human nature again. Ah sorry, but I did not tell you yet how it works. So basically you register on the website and decide to turn your flat into a restaurant: choose what to cook, a opening time and a price and that’s it, people you don’t know will just come to eat at your place. Isn’t it awesome? Since I take things always quite seriously, I came home from work with printouts ordered in an opening time sequence: I am going for a marathon!!! Obviously being the first time I attend such event, I want to get a good feeling of it trying out different places, and thanks God I got some  good stomach company! (anyway I don’t have friends on diet, or better, people on diet are not my friends!) First stop at 12.00 me and Neil we go to discover what a “folzschnitten” is. I tried to google it, but the results weren’t satisfying, so I need to see it with my own eyes, or better my taste buds want to! We arrive in a lovely garden with benches populated by young couples with kids. The table cloth is a long drawing sheet where we can express our creativity (the 2 years old kid next to me is with no surprise a much better artist) coffee is good and the dish is yummy (Neil particularly impressed by the rhubarb that comes with it). Most important is that everyone is just very friendly so we enjoy the chat. We move on to another sweet pit-stop with tasty cakes (one above all the florida key lime pie) great: plenty of new ideas for my own cooking challenges! Then we get Mark on board and move to apero time in the garden. Two great chefs as hosts serving gourgeous stuff and fresh lemonade! And untill here we get the company of Nina and Jonas: reporter and photographer witnessing this day (their plan is even more ambitious than ours: 12 stops and biking in between!). 19.00 and it’s time for tabouleh! In this flat they took seriously the restaurant concept with 3 nice little tables like in a small trattoria -Herzig! After a second pit-stop we close this day with a visit to the Ron’s Trattoria (it’s actually thanks to Ron if I discovered this initiative! http://www.ronorp.ch): we are too late for the spaghetti, but we get a free painting exposition, music and the beer cost simply as much as you want to give!

The great b-side effect of all this wanderig and eating is actually getting lost and discover new part of the city I have never been to! I can go to bed with a nice feeling: mankind is generous and open, good job Zurich! And who knows, maybe at the next date I am gonna open a restaurant too!

http://www.restaurantday.org

Lascia un commento

